Home A B C D E F G H I J K L M
Menu N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Ukrainian version
Republic of

Wales [Уельс] – the third largest of the constituent countries of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, occupying an area in the west of the island of Great Britain and several offshore islands. To the east it is bordered by England. Area – 20,732 sq. km; population – 3.1 million (2017). Capital city – Cardiff.

The National Assembly for Wales, established in 1999, passes legislation in certain matters relating to Wales, all other matters being decided by the United Kingdom Parliament. The legal system applicable in Wales is English law.

Only a few hundred of the Ukrainians who came to the UK as a result of the Second World War settled in Wales, mainly in Cardiff and Swansea where organised Ukrainian communities emerged. Some post-independence migrants from Ukraine to the UK have settled in Wales.