Home A B C D E F G H I J K L M
Menu N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Ukrainian version
British Isles
British Isles
Republic of

British Isles [Британські острови] – a geographical name used to denote a group of islands in the Atlantic Ocean in north-west Europe, comprising Great Britain, Ireland, the Isle of Man and over 6,000 smaller islands. The total land area of the islands is 315,134 sq. km. The Channel Islands, due to their political relationship with the United Kingdom, are traditionally also regarded as belonging to the British Isles, even though they are physically located off the French coast.

Two sovereign states are located on the British Isles: the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. The Isle of Man and the Channel Islands are UK crown dependencies, but are not constituent parts of the UK. In UK legislation the name British Islands (as distinct from British Isles) officially denotes the UK, the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands.